ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

SB 974 State-Owned Nursing Homes - Deficiencies, Citations, and Fines -**Contractor Reporting Requirements** SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS

April 4, 2023

The Honorable Senator Melony Griffith, Chairman Finance Committee 3 East, Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Griffith:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS SB 974 - State-Owned Nursing Homes - Deficiencies, Citations, and Fines - Contractor Reporting Requirements which is being heard in the Finance Committee.

The only amendment the Commissioners request is that the local governing body be included among those entities required to receive notice of a deficiency or an enforcement action reported by a monitoring agency.

We support SB 974 with the proffered amendment and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

> Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

annel Jun

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/111 Page 2 The Honorable Senator Melony Griffith, Chairman April 4, 2023

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney